Almost-Collected thoughts from an Indiana Sky

 

Alright, this is going to be long, I can feel it coming on…and Im not sure how to even go about getting everything in…Here goes.

Today marks the third week since numbly throwing things into my car and making the 10-hour journey down here. By the way “down here” is Muncie, Indiana for those of you who don’t follow my writings…Part of me still cannot wrap my mind around the fact that I am even here in this internship…preparing and growing for what God has in mind for my future and how He is going to work through me to reach this world. It’s crazy looking back,  even the phrase “looking back” is crazy because I haven’t been here long at all…but I have been carried a long way already…The first week was so hard, trying to adjust to everything not knowing anyone…Second week was trying to figure out the flow and how I was supposed to move with it…And now in my third week with classes that are challenging, thought provoking, and fascinating, responsibilities that I do enjoy ( yet to be written about), building relationships, and a new job at an old Perkins; life is quickly getting kind of crazy…a new lifestyle is taking place. With it are some concerns of balance and making sure that my passions and gifts stay in focus…because when everything is stripped away those are what lie natural to my heart and who God has made me to be…So while on that topic, let me continue on in those things that are so dear to me.

 

Where to start?!

Gardening? Yes, gardening it shall be…Us interns have a rather large garden to use and tend to…Last week Grant (head of gardening), Stephanie(wife of Josh, a fellow intern and awesome mother of two beautiful little girls), and I tilled up the old soil, layed some new down, and started a second planting in hopes that we could have a small harvest before the winter. Today with great excitement and pride Steph announced that our lettuce and radishes had sprouted! Nothing could have been better than being barefoot in the dirt and sunshine turning soil and planting. We went a thousand miles an hour with the hopes and dreams of building raised beds, getting about three times the produce, learning to dry, freeze, and can…becoming way more sustainable as an internship. Also we want chickens…lunch line conversations lately have been consisting of creative arguments to get our request approved by leadership…I mean what could be better than free range, grass-fed, organic eggs!?! We have the supplies and skill to build our own moveable coops…and a glowing field full of bright, green grass.  There would have been pictures to document this beautiful time of gardening, but Grant forgot the camera he promised to bring…next time.

Art…I have been thinking off and on lately of what handmade items could I make? What would be useful, artistic, and wanted? We have Bekah making her amazing messenger bags out of coffee sacks, and leather journals…her front-porch philosophies on working with your hands, art, God, and sustainability are really something that is natural in our heads. I think it’s something that women in our culture have really let go of…So I look up to the women who live more traditionally, naturally, and wholesomely…such as this mother whom I came across while reading the latest from mammainthescene …who also happens to be like minded.

These darling littles belong to mammainthescene

These darling littles belong to mammainthescene

Granola Mom 4 God  “Granola Mom”  has an awesome array of knowledge and lessons to learn from…My latest excitement is coming across her recipe for homemade vanilla exract…I go through a lot of it when cooking and it is far from inexpensive…She is also a homeschooler, which just makes me happy and admiring.

Stephanie and Josh's daughters...

Stephanie and Josh's daughters...

It brings me joy and encouragement to watch these young mothers in varied lifestyles of ministry take care of their children and husbands, while keeping the Love of Jesus alive

 

Michelle and Brandon's lovely Priya

Michelle and Brandon's lovely Priya

 I know there was a lot more I wanted to update on and get into this post…but I really didn’t expect to be staring at this screen as long as I have…And I really can’t remember what else I had wanted to write about…If there is anything you are interested in hearing about let me know.

One final note- I am so thrilled at the coming of autumn! Every time I walk into a store and they have their fall decorations, and candy out I get so happy! It is by far my favorite season…I love wearing corduroy, sweaters, thermal shirts…sipping apple cider, and my new favorite honey cinnamon lattes…I am currently addicted to pumpkin everything…Deep colours of golds, scarlet, cream, chocolate…soft accustic/folk music…good books…hiking in cool air watching leaves fall…You trackin with me?  Man, its awesome, that’s all I have to say.

Dear children, let us not love with words or tongue but with actions and in truth. This then is how we know that we belong to the truth, and how we set our hearts at rest in His presence.

John 3:18-19

 

“My Daughter, I am not yet ready to hand you over”

I saw the Holy City, the new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride, beautifully dressed for her husband…

Revelation 21:2

7 Comments

Filed under Art, From this Life, God..., Handmade, Indiana, Journals Unabridged, MAC Internship, Philosophies and my attempt at maturity, Photos

7 responses to “Almost-Collected thoughts from an Indiana Sky

  1. you make me happy 🙂

  2. I’m not. I’m just cheap.

  3. Steph

    I’m glad you blog. I could read this for hours on end. love you.

  4. I can not even begin to tell you what an answer to prayer you are to me today. I sit here crying as I type this to you. I asked God, begged Him for just a little present today–some sort of affirmation–that I was OK . . . that I mattered . . . that I was doing something right. Thanks so much. Seriously, thanks!

    • oh goodness! you are so welcome, and actually I found your blog to be an awesome encouragement to me…no, I am not a mother or a wife…but I hope to be someday and mothers like you inspire me…Keep writing and keep loving.

  5. Michelle

    You NEVER cease to amaze me…
    Well done.
    Miss you.

Leave a Reply

