Nourish! In the Form of Stir-fry.

Let me not get to the point as usual and just say that I’m drinking an iced coffee…since when?! I’m not as “3rd wave” as you think…I guess. Hey, it’s pretty much summer here in Indiana with this lack of snow and 50 degree, sunny breezes!

Now for the point…

Cooking time! Who wants to learn how to make a healthy stir-fry? …You? Good, glad you’re interested. Well this afternoon’s recipe is…

Spicy peanut stir-fry

yay! doesn’t that sound amazing!? Sorry this recipe isn’t very printable…it may not even be possible to copy down…because I never measure things, and I’m just plain unorganized.

-Chop your veggies…I used all organic sugar pea pods, baby carrots, thinly sliced potato, green pepper, and minced garlic.

mmm...veggies!

– Lightly sate your veggies in coconut oil..which has many health benefits and is a good source of healthy fat which your body needs to function well.

I used about 2 tablespoons of coconut oil.

– Sauce time!  I used homemade organic peanut butter…Which is freshly ground peanuts, coconut oil, raw honey, vanilla, and salt…It’s amazing…Anyway simmer 1-2 tablespoons of peanut butter in soy sauce over medium heat until desired consistency…Stir in 1/2-1 tsp. of chili powder, depending on how spicy you like your food…I like mine hot.

Veggies and Sauce making friends in the fry pan.

– Pour sauce over veggies in pan…continue to stir-fry until the veggies are done how you like them…I like mine slightly crunchy if you care to know.

– Plate it up and enjoy knowing that you are nourishing your body!

Finished...

I’m currently reading Nourishing Traditions…Learning all kinds of things about how our bodies assimilate food, and what we can do to make sure that we are getting the most out of our food…Vegetables need a fat like butter, coconut oil, or olive oil for our bodies to fully break down the vitamins and nutrients…Keep watching for future posts on nourishing, traditional, and wholesome recipes.

Tomorrow a friend and I head to a local farm to talk to them about purchasing a cow share so that we can have legal access to raw milk…which is great for you, pasteurization kills many of the vitamins and healthy components that milk has to offer…not to mention it is an amazing source -of whole fats. Eat fat, Lose fat. Contrary to popular belief  started by the “low-fat” diet trends, our bodies need fats to function the way they were created to…The low-fat diet has caused a rise in diseases, depression, and obesity in America…While the French are continuing to eat their heavy-cream cuisine and maintain a healthy weight. Ever wonder why buttered vegetables, whole milk, ice-cream, and creamy sauces/dressing taste so good? Because your body is telling you what it needs! Start listening and start educating yourself on eating well.

7 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Eating Well, Handmade, Health, Indiana, Natural and Organic, Nourishing Traditions, Photos, Progressions, Recipes, The Becoming Woman

7 responses to “Nourish! In the Form of Stir-fry.

  1. the main point of this post is really in that first sentence. these confessions of Ice coffee drinking….next thing you know it’s Starbucks. You hear that ed? starbucks. now the whole station’s in danger.

  2. It sounds like someone has been reading “French Women Don’t get Fat”… from what I gathered by reading the title of that book…

    Besides all of the organic stuff, it looks pretty tasty.

  3. I want to make this for my family. I’ll have to make it for a special night with my husband since, my kids all have a nut allergy. 😦

    Sewmanybooks.blogspot.com

  4. Gwenevere…don’t worry about the giveway confusion..I just liked your blog and thought I would post a comment on that post and see what happened…With the stir fry, you can definitely leave out the peanut butter and just add a little raw sugar to the soy sauce and spices of you choice…its a lighter version that I like a lot…thanks so much for stopping by!

  5. This sounds great….Love your blog and your blog name

  6. that looks yummy 😀

  7. I support your iced coffee drinking . . . unlike some wonderful people! 🙂

Leave a Reply

