Today I Rose At 6am So You Could Read This.

Morning readers…

It is a beautiful sunny morning here in Indiana…I am really appreciating the northern like cool breeze, haven’t been handling the humidity all that well…mainly my hair is fed up with this thick, hot weather.

In other news there is yet again another ant crawling up my wall…Any tips on how to get rid of these guys? They are seriously all over the house…and as much as I love living among all sorts of creatures, I get annoyed with them in my food and sheets.

Well, I promised I would get some recipes up soon from my adventures in cooking from the Nourishing Traditions cookbook…aka textbook for life!  This book has been changing my life…Cooking has always been an interest of mine…but now learning how to prepare real food correctly is becoming a passion.

Last night before I went to bed I ground up some hard red winter wheat and got that soaking in cultured buttermilk so that I would have flour ready to go in the morning for some fresh bread and Strawberry Cinnamon muffins…Today Im going to post the recipe for the muffins…I would like to post the bread recipe as well, but if you have been following me at all, you know full well that me and measuring ingredients have issues…Even though my bread turns out great I don’t yet have exact measurements and a set way of making it…kinda just changes everytime…So, until that is perfected you will just have to settle for muffins…and who doesn’t like settling for that!?


Soaked Whole Grain Muffins

3 cups of freshly ground wheat

2 cups of buttermilk

2 eggs

1 teaspoon of sea salt

1/3 cup of rapadura

2 teaspoons of baking soda

2 teaspoons of pure vanilla extract

3 tablespoons of melted butter

1 teaspoon of cinnamon

1 cup of berries, raisins, or diced fruit of choosing.


Soak flour in buttermilk in a glass bowl at room temperature for 12-24 hours. I find that my flour products rise better the longer they are soaked.

After soaking, blend in the rest of the ingredients…pour into well buttered muffin tins, stoneware and cast iron work well. Bake at 325 degrees for about 20-30 minutes…check after 20 minutes.


The original recipe by Sally Fallon can be found on page 482 of her book “Nourishing Traditions”. My variation isn’t much different and includes the most important step which is soaking the flour. By soaking your flours you are ensuring that your body can fully benefit by whole grains…The soaking process breaks down hard to digest protiens, complex starches, and phytic acid in the grains making it possible for your body to digest and absorb the nutrients from whole grains.

Enjoy making these…of course eating them too…And there is another ant, this time its crawling up my leg. Oh, the joys of life.

1 Comment

Filed under beautiful, books, Cooking, Eating Well, From this Life, Handmade, Health, Indiana, Learning, Natural and Organic, Nourishing Traditions, Progressions, Real Food, Recipes, The Becoming Woman, Unorganized, With This Morning's Coffee

One response to “Today I Rose At 6am So You Could Read This.

  1. please send a muffin. hold the ants.
    love.
    jeni

Leave a Reply

