starbucks figured out the human condition

There was a man outside smoking an old hand-carved pipe and reading some sort of sci-fi novel, I noticed him on my way out.

I ordered an iced mocha, light on the chocolate and took a seat by myself at the community table…

A new concept Starbucks has introduced to it’s atmosphere and customers…I was surprised to see it already implemented in the small-town shop I was visiting in the midwest. The table was empty as I sat down, and remained so as people filtered in and out. I wondered if people had yet caught on to the idea, or were still behind the trend of communing with strangers.

Bryant Simon says that Starbucks’ marketing is not only left up to their pop art, attractive graphics, and smiling baristas, but is cleverly woven into their atmosphere as a whole…Bryant poses the idea that Starbucks has taken something that is “functional” (coffee/caffeine) and has made it something that is also “emotional”…an experience that communicates that you as a consumer are important, wealthy, and belong in society. He goes on to call this, “a language that is carefully calibrated”.

as I sat alone noting the demographics, snapping a few photos, and documenting the experience, I realized that I too felt independent, successful, and trendy with my specialized drink and Nine West clutch…that,  for all it’s worth, may or may not be a knock off. I don’t know if I am more fascinated with my own fascination of Starbucks or actually take such a great interest in the company…either way it is something worth exploring as someone working in the progressive coffee industry; taking also into account that a lot of  the same people who love to support local/green/fair trade endeavors are attracted by a major corporation’s attention to the detail of human psyche.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “starbucks figured out the human condition

  1. Val

    Marketing is just another word for psychology. Or subliminal mind control, depending on how much X Files you watch.

Leave a Reply

